An easy week?!

Well, that’s what I had thought. Instead it’s been a hugely demanding one at work – but fun. Yesterday was a 14 hour day at work – that was following a 4:00 am practice and the drive into the office. I finally got home at 11:30 pm and crashed and was up this morning at 5:30 as I needed to be into the office at 7:00 for what would turn out to be a 12 hour day. So no practice this morning. My practice on Tuesday was a relatively poor one; it felt rushed but more than that It felt ‘heavy’ – the lightness of my fasting practices seemed gone and I felt as though I was crashing through my vinyasas clumsily. Thankfully my new found binding was still there.

As I said, I couldn’t practice today because of my work commitments – and for once I don’t feel guilty about it. How can I feel guilty about not practicing when I’ve put in 26 hours of work in the last 48 hours?

But the work has been enjoyable and the long hours are largely due to a ‘recognition event’. It started with cocktails and dinner at the York Downs Country Club – the special meal I had requested was outstanding. Today the event continued with a full day of executive training. It’s massively gratifying to have been shortlisted for this – there were just 30 of us. You can spend a decade with a company and not accumulate the kind of facetime I have in the last 48 hours.

A couple of years ago I was treading water – getting paid but getting my kicks almost exclusively outside work. That’s changed. I had to work hard to change my role and, having managed that transition, I enjoy the opportunities I’m getting now. More than that, I’ve found a passion for the business and for the company. And I’m not in it for the money anymore. I could quit and get a 20% pay hike tomorrow elsewhere – My executive told us as much today. So it’s got to be about more than the money. You have to want to work for Big Blue because you believe you can make things better for our clients – and ultimately the ordinary people who are their customers. Clearly I’m no cynic. But I’m no wild-eyed idealist either. I’ve been in the business for almost a decade – that’s enough time to have had the enthusiasm sucked out of you. And I have crap days at work – we all do (The only job I’d swap mine with belongs to Dennis Bergkamp and even he has crap days at work). But I know executives who’ve been with our company for 20 or 30 years and they still remain articulate and passionate evangelists for what we do; and I can feel myself morphing into one of them.

So I reckon I practiced Yoga today if not asanas; being passionate and commited to my work without too much regard for the rewards; working with honesty and integrity; treating my subordinates, colleagues and customers with the courtesy, respect and due regard they deserve. That is yoga more than any pose you or I will ever squeeze into. Like my Supta K, the results are not always pretty and not exactly what one would hope for…but with perserverence…it is surely coming and ever better. Most ashtangis would scoff at that; that’s there business not mine.

Leave a Reply

