Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana came

I managed a breakthrough this morning. I bound Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana for the first time. Again as with prevously mastered asanas, I’d tried this pose every day without succeeding – so why is it that I was suddenly able to bind it so easily this morning. It’s a mystery sometimes, this asana business.

I practiced at 6:00 am this morning and it was pitch black outside where the rain was pounding down hard and the thunder was loud. It stayed that way a good way through the 90 minutes. I washed my rug yesterday so it felt nicely crisp and new and I had a pretty decent practice – heck the one moment of magic was enough to make it a good one and enough to lift my spirits inspite of the headache I’d woken up and which I still have now at 9:20 pm – I can feel where it starts; in my left shoulder as usual and winding itself up my neck and in behind my left eye.

The day had turned out to be a beautiful one by the afternoon – blue skies and sunshine and the grass seemed greener than ever. With my headache, I ended up not to going into the office. I had planned to leave around 9:30 and drove about 10 minutes before deciding I couldn’t deal with the drive, especially with that traffic tie up down the road I’d just heard about on the radio. I turned right round and came home. I changed into jeans and a T-shirt, fired up the laptop, found my wireless signal and logged onto my VPN. I was busy and had little time to dwell on my headache.

I turned up my speakers to listen to the BBC commentary of the final match of the Ashes Series while I worked – England had started strongly but then that genius Shane Warne intervened taking his quota of wickets. Still England were 317 for 7 at stumps. Not a huge total but not terrible either. They can still win this thing. If you feel like having a chuckle, listen to this (you may need Real Player). It’s an audio file I rediscovered a couple of days; basically it’s a blooper – two famous cricket commentators being overcome with a giggle fit from a match between England and the West Indies some 15 years ago. They soldier on gamely through their summary nevertheless. It’ll make you laugh even if you don’t understand a thing about cricket.

Not having gone in, I had to run down to the station around 6:00 to pick up my wife. I didn’t mind. It’s a scenic country drive down the escarpment to Milton where the station is and the day had turned out nicely – this was the kind of drive I was up for and so I packed in my work for the day and headed out.

Tomorrow is my daughter’s first day back at school (Senior Kindergarten) kinda; we’re to accompany her for a 1/2 hour session with her teacher at 10:45 am and then bring her home. Then I’ve got to haul myself across to the otherside of Toronto for a 3-hour meeting that will take up the whole afternoon. Friday driving home sucks and I’ll be alone since Neera has her check-up in the afternoon and is taking the whole day off. Maybe I’ll stay in the office late. At least I won’t have to get up at 4:00 am to practice.

One Response to Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana came

  1. kanjalid says:

    That’s wonderful. Congratulations on completing the bind!

Leave a Reply

