Diya

Diya (a hindi word for ‘light’) was born in Milton, Ontario, Canada on Sunday afternoon – a typically sunny early fall day in Ontario. That’s why I haven’t blogged in days (I haven’t practiced my asanas since Friday either).

The water broke on Saturday morning. I came home with several hundred pounds of compost from the Waste Management Depot and asked my wife ‘how you doin’?’ as I walked into the house for breakfast. She told me. So I inhaled eggs, showered and shaved and then headed for the hospital. She spent the night there and I was there well into the night before coming home to sleep. The next morning I was there early; the contractions were on but not strong enough and it was now 24 hours since the water had broke so they added a little bit of oxytocin to the mix and that did the trick. She was born that afternoon – at 3:03 pm.

I don’t know where the last two days have gone. They’ve been a blur; running to and from the hospital, walking around the corridors of the Obs section with the Diya to give her Mum a chance to rest (and to stop her crying – she enjoys being carried and taken for walks already – and starts wailing as soon as you put her down); making runs to Tim Horton’s to pick up steeped tea and fresh fruit yogurts for the same. It’s all great. I’m tired but I’m having a fine time.

Mum and baby are home now and I’ve taken two weeks off work for the new girl and her older sister (who has really taken to her new protege). Asanas are the last thing on my mind but I’ll start practicing again tomorrow.

5 Responses to Diya

  1. Anonymous says:

    Warmist wishes to your family. Beautiful name and baby face!

    Cheers SMN

  2. Vanessa says:

    Congratulations! She is a gorgeous little thing.

  3. Jenna says:

    Many warm congratulations to you and your family! She’s beautiful, and I love the name. By the way, you’re making me want babies again.

  4. Chris says:

    Congratulations! I hope that her life is as beautiful as her name.

Leave a Reply

