The Bonus Room

I practice in what we call the ‘Bonus Room’. When we built our house, we had the option of adding a loft over our garage – we took it and the builders took to calling it the ‘bonus room’ as it was optional and an addition to the plans. The name stuck and five years later we still call it that. It’s a good for summer practices since the garage traps heat and that rises to the room above and keeps it warm through the night (particularly as I close the air conditioning vents.

Last night I even spent the night in the Bonus Room. Since I’m working again, it doesn’t make sense for me to sleep in our bedroom as the baby keeps getting up and I can’t get a proper night’s rest. Neera now manages her nocturnal wailing exclusively since she can rest through the day. So I got a full night’s rest…starting at 9:30 pm. I had obviously needed to catch up on my sleep as I didn’t wake up until 5:00 am. I got up and had a tremendously good practice (physically at least – mentally my mind was churning stuff from my first long and difficult day back at work). I sweated loads – It had been a hot day and night – In fact I believe a new record was set for 3rd Octobers – 27 degrees. Also I had already turned the airconditioning off for the season.

I’m going to try to get back into bed early tonight as I’m in the office tomorrow. Hopefully the practice will be as good as this morning’s was.

I’ll leave you with something I read this week that made me think immediately of my practice:

Success, like happiness, cannot be pursued; it must ensue, and it only does so as the unintended side effect of one’s personal dedication to a cause greater than oneself – Viktor Frankl

Leave a Reply

