That makes 9

I’ve practiced nine days in a row (including moonday where I practiced by not practicing). As it turns out I guess I was right to skip practice on Tuesday morning – it being the closest practice to Monday’s new moon. The morning was hectic so I ended up practicing after wrapping up work around 6 this evening. It’s been ages since I practice so late. This late in the day I’m ever so close to binding Mari D (unassisted). I tried something else today – I wanted to see how close I could get to doing the handstand vinyasa between Navasana, just for a laugh. I’ve always imagined that this is the one detail of the primary series that would evade me in this lifetime. I tell you…I came pretty close to actually doing it. A bit more strength in the abs and arms and I’d be up. Remarkable.

I’m booked for Darby’s workshop next weekend. He’s only one of two certifed Ashtangis in Canada (his wife Joanne being the other). I jump at these chances to practice with the highest calibre teachers – they provide an intensive opportunity to fine tune a home practice that I fear would otherwise veer into all kinds of wrong directions. I just can’t get to a Shala regularly so this is my best alternative.

It was a rough week and I’m glad it’s done. I’m looking forward to the weekend and practices 10 and 11.

Finally. I have to say this. I’ve never had much time for the self-centred porcelain princess; the fragile and psychically traumatised chick who seems to have a self-induced crisis every other day (usually accompanied by some public drama). I knew a girl like that in Grad school – we were even close friends, but my ‘insensitivity’ (as she saw it) ensured it wouldn’t last. I didn’t even need to open my mouth – the roll of my eyes and the look on my face betrayed my sullen indifference. Sometimes I wanted to take her over my knee and spank the living daylights out of her. My advice to her and her kind remains the same – get a grip. I’m glad my wife’s not like that – but then she wouldn’t have been wife if she were. End of rant.

Just had to get that out. Normal service is now being resumed.

3 Responses to That makes 9

  1. Anonymous says:

    so someone that illicits that much vitrol means that you likely want more that just to spank

  2. Andrea says:

    Have you practised with Darby before? I practised for the first two years of my Ashtanga life with Darby in Montreal. I miss the Montreal Ashtanga scene immensely, and a lot of that has to do with Darby. He brings such a great energy to the practice. He’s serious and lighthearted all at once. My favourite is when he says, in the middle of navasana, “Smile…it’s JUST yoga!” Hope you have a great time at the workshop.

    –A

  3. Ash says:

    I practiced with Darby just once at the 2004 International Yoga Show. He introduced Navasana by calling every yogi’s favourite asana.

    Yeah, should be a nice weekend. It’s a bit of hike for me way across town to Danforth but it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

